"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue statement states that their should be a uniform curriculum nationwide for the students until they enter college. I agree with the recommendation provided through the statement. Education at the school level plays an important role in molding the future of a child. It helps lay a strong foundation for the higher studies for the student. Each and every student going to school has the right to be equal opportunities. So, schools across the nation should impose an uniform education system. The nation should have a pre-defined curriculum set for the school going students across the nation.

Providing the students with the same curriculum provides them a fair chance of competition. All the students studying the same subjects helps them in uniform development. Every children is trained equally and is provided equal opportuinities. When the different states design a separate curriculum for their region, it might be possible that the level of education may be different from other regions or state. For example, it is possible that a student in Quebec has French as a compulsory subject in his curriculum while a student in Torronto might not have French as a compulsion. This will create a difference between students of different regions. This will provide a edge to a student in Quebec over a student in Torronto due to his multi-lingual skills. Eventhough, it is not the student who has opted out from learning french and the regional government has made the choice on behalf of the students, it eventually adds up as a loss to the student.

Providing with a uniform curriculum across the Nation helps the colleges to judge the students on a fair scale. In the presence of different syllabuses, it might happen that the students are weighed differently during their admissions for the higher education. A uniform education helps in designing the syllabus of the competitive exams too as with the same curriculum, it will not be an issue to judge the aspirants differently due to their regions of study. Even, students get a fair chance in their competitive exams as they are to perform only from what they have learnt and not something outside of their syllabus.

Teaching the national history, economics, civics and various subject helps in developing the feelings of nationalism in the students. It helps them break all the regional barriers and unite themselves as the citizen of a single nation. It helps in attaining unity across the diversity by imparting national values in them. It will eventually also help in eliminating of all the tensions between the people of different culture or region in the upcoming future. The idea of regionalism can be tossed out of the window with the help of unified national curriculum.

It is important to have different syllabuses at college level for different specializations but at the school level, where each and every student has to study the same subjects, it is necessary for all schools to have same syllabus. Having different syllabus at private schools having great fundings might attract more students to private schools instead of the public funded schools. This will eventually create an issue for the poor students as they will not be given equal opportunities as they cant afford expensive education. This will also increase privatization of education system which is not suggestible in the society.

Although, Uniform Education is important, it is also important for the students to have knowledge of their region. Their should be made provisions to include additional optional subjects which can teach the students about their regional culture, their language, the regional history and the geographical importance of their region. So, alongside uniform education system it is also important to give equal importance to the regional auntheticity but also it should not be included in the judging basis for the student's performance at the national level.

To conclude my stance on the recommendation, I would agree to the statement for a single uniform education system for the whole nation. It is necessary to have a uniform curriculum across the nation at the school level.