A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Whether to standardize the national curriculum or not is a long lasting debate among educators. The defenders of common and standardized national curriculum, argues that there is a minimum amount of knowledge on each topic that all citizens must acquire. However they dont realize that they forgo specialization to reach that minima, personal ambitions and interests of individuals and the governments ability to provide sufficient resources to everyone. Thus, considering both the harm given to indivuduals and the resource scarcity I have to disagree with this recommendation.

First of all, each children is born with different abilities and interest that later will be affect their academic and professional path. School is the first place where personal tendencies and interests are realized. Therefore, to encourage to learn and succeed, such differences should be taken in to account rather than forcing them to study courses they are totally apathetic to. Along with wasting their time such a method can even create a detest towards school among youth.

Secondly, It is impossible to provide the same facilities to each school in the country. Quality education requires computers, a library with a variety of books and other materials. Unless the government can provide all of this to everyone there will be a dicrepancy. A school in rural area will have no access to sophisticated tools that a student living in metropolitan area have. While keeping them responsible for the same material is unfair, believing the sufficiency of government in providing such tools is unrealistic. Therefore, a healthy and effective curriculum should be designed by teachers and schools that will make the best use of available resources.

To conclude, a standardized national curriculum along with its impossibility of realization would hinder specialization of children in their interested area. Thereby, far from reaching its goals of providing a base knowledge to everyone the proposal would harm educational system as a whole.