A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The education of a nation's citizens is an invaluable asset that if cultivated and nurtured correctly can ensure the growth, innovation, and the overall success of said nation. It is essentially an investment in the nature's future. I believe requiring all students to have a standardized curriculum across the board before entrance into higher education could help support the best interests of the nation in a few different ways. With all students studyi the same national curriculum it may be easier to ensure quality control, level the playing field for students entering college, and provide a suitable baseline for students who may choose not to go on to the next level of education.

Quality control of educational curriculum will be far easier to attain if it is standardized across all primary insitutions. Using the current state of the educational system of the US as an example, while some standardization has been implemented by way of legislation such as "No Child Left Behind", this has only served to lead to a focus on teaching to a test that even on the state level many institutions may achieve in different ways. Different methods used to instruct and support the students leads to very different performance on the standardized exams, which can be seen in the differrences between states' rankings in regard to education. Quality control is currently failing students as if the curriculums taught in their state educational institutions were truly standardized, they would be able to perform better on the standardized exams. It will also be less cost-prohibitive to evaluate if schools are following the national curriculum than to approximate if the differing curriculums used from state-to-state are equivalent.

Standardizing the curriculum for all the nation's students may also allow them to have a level playing field when entering college which could lead to positive change in the way the college industry operates. Students will be able to take comfort knowing that every other student has taken the same classes and their acceptance to a university truly relies on their merit, not whether they were able to take more AP classes than another student or if the curriculum at their school taught in a more productive way than another.

Finally, a standard national curriculum can ensure that all students have an appropriate baseline of education that will allow them to achieve success in their community even if they choose not to go onto college. A standardized national curriculum can set the bar for what is necessary to be a good citizen that can work and contribute to a nation's growth and success. It will be a sort of safety net that will allow citizens to be successful without relying too heavily on colleges.