A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

What we study in our early years, the way we learn creates the base for our future. The prompt suggests that all the denizens of a nation should be made to study the same national curriculum before their college. I mostly agree with this prompt for two reasons.

To begin, having a uniform curriculum across the entire nation would help in regulating the level of education that must be met before beginning college academics. For instance, few educational institutions raise the level of their curriculum in the early years, while few institutions have a lenient curriculum. When the students from all such institutions would get admitted to the same college, there would be a gap in the exposure that the individual students might have been subjected to. This would cause trouble to not only the students who have to cope up more to raise their bar but also for the professors who would have difficulty in making his lectures interesting for all the students. Having a same national curriculum would at least ensure a basic level of exposure amongst all the students.

However, as against subjects like Mathematics, Science and Literature which could be standardised across the nation, having a common curriculum for History, Geography would be difficult in a large country or secular country comprising of multiple cultures. Such countries would usually be divided into multiple states depending on their endemic cultures. In this regard, the stories, struggles of the leaders who might be very significant in a small sect, geographical importance for a particular region might not get a place in the national curriculum. This would partially defeat the purpose of effectively educating the population about its cultures. Perhaps, leaving the subjects which would pertain to the localities could be left to the state while the other subjects like Mathematics, Science, Literature which is factual could be standardised.

While some people might argue that the pedagogy matters as equally as the curriculum, at least ensuring an appropriate standard of the educational material could help in raising the bar for all the students and enabling them to grasp the advanced concepts without any issue.