Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Imagine a world with no restrictions. Though, initially this leeway could make people feel truely free. But it could soon create a world where robbery, espionage and other such felony could become quotidian. With the judicial system and the laws in place, the human civilization has become safer. These laws, laid out by a particular nation or any other judicial organisation, are expected to be followed by the denizens of the corresponding regions with the duress of facing punitive actions. The prompt suggests that this responsibility of obeying these just laws and to disobey and resist the unjust ones lies with each denizen. I mostly agree with this prompt for the following reasons.

To begin with, by having a sense of probity and obeying the laws has a two-pronged advantage. Constantly, behaving within the laws set out and assigning a moral obligation to not disobey laws, would set an example for others who could digress from the ideal path. This would efficaciously reduce the crime rates of that particular region and make for a more conducive and safe society. Also, having this attitude of obeying laws and the justification for the same right from home itself would mould the children since, children become what they see. This would not just tremendously reduce the possibility of juvenile delinquency and make them more tolerant but also stem the future adult criminals.

However, there could be certain unjust laws, that could stir up indignation amongst the ones who suffer from the injustice caused by such laws. Resisting such supposedly unjust laws and using the appropriate designated mediums for raising concerns of the injustice caused by these laws could create a holistic society. Nevertheless, assuming that a law is unjust and directly disobeying such unjust laws could account for felony. This perception of whether the law is just or not could differ from person to person and hence, disobeying would not be remedy to tackling unjust laws. Rather, using the facilities provided to raise concern about the justness of a law would go a long way in not just having an increased trust in the judicial system but also constantly morally judging every action that a person would take.

With reference to the above reasons mentioned, the laws set out by a judicial system ought to be obeyed by every individual. However, any law that seems unjust must be brought into light.