No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt recommends that no field of study can advance significantly unless knowledge and experience from outside the field is used. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that knowledge and experience from outside a field has a positive impact on that field for the following two reasons.

To begin, in a field of study there are several areas that require expertise, hence knowledge from another field can be borrowed to help advance in that particular area. For instance, In the field of Industrial engineering, there are several areas of study such as operations research, ergonomics, manufacturing etc. Operations research require the knowledge of mathematics, ergonomics incorporates the health field in its study and manufacturing employs the mechanical engineering field. The above example illustrates that the incorporation of these fields in the industrial engineering filed has helped in the advancement of the field.

Second, the significant advancement in the technology age did not just happen in a day. It all began from the stone age, to the iron age and then to the technology age that we are now in. The iron age relied on the stone age for significant advancement and so did the technology age rely on both of these ages. The abacus helped in coming up with the Paschals machine, another device for counting and the principle used in these machines are still employed in the computers of today. This shows that the technology field has relied on other fields for advancement.

Of course, some may argue that the sciences such as physics and chemistry do not require knowledge and experience form outside field to advance. How are the calculations done in these fields? Is it not with the aid of mathematics? Hence, this shows that all fields require knowledge from outside field for significant advancement.