No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The field of human endeavors has been evolving from time immemorial. Experts in different fields have come together to collaborate and engage with each other to make what seems to be impossible to be possible. With the forgoing, I strongly agree that No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field. I will be supporting this with three major points.

Firstly, incorporating knowledge from other fields makes professionals in one field to network and collaborate with another. This makes it possible to achieve large scale breakthroughs. For instance, in the field of Medicine, if there has not been collaboration between Medical doctors and Electrical/Electronics Engineers, machines used for diagnosis would not have been possible. Because of the expertise domain of the doctors to know what is required to diagnose under the machine and also the knowledge of the Engineers to build machines, they are able to build a usable machine. This has made it possible for other professionals in other fields to collaborate and network with each other.

Secondly, incorporating knowledge from other fields make the experts in a field to be versatile and also know much about other fields. Infact, it has been discovered by studies that there are some professionals in a field that knows as much as more than half of what an expert in another field knows. For instance, a computer software programmer will be versatile in the field of accountancy if he or she has developed an accounting software before. The same software Engineer will also know about Real Estate, Insurance and also field of medicine if he has developed software applications that has been used in this fields. Incorporating knowledge from other domains has made it easier for Computer science field to advance.

Furthermore, incorporating knowledge from other fields also allow the experts to advance knowledge in other fields. For instance, a computer science major needs to have knowledge about Management and Finance such that he/she will be able to manage his/her finance well when he decides to setup a company. Incorporating other knowledge will also allow him/her to be a better manager without much stress.

I believe others might think it is not necessary to have knowledge in other domains as far as it does not add any value to the person but the advantages of incorporating knowledge from other areas is more than not having it. It also allows for Team bonding. It is of paramount importance to have knowledge in other fields so as to be regarded as a complete expert and you can never tell when the knowledge will be of great use to you or even it might be required to safe your life one day.