Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

What is originality? An answer to this question can have multiple forms like the source of information, the authenticity of information, preciseness and accuracy of information etc… So it’s difficult to define the term Originality in terms of definition. While some people feel that it can be defined as something that was never thought before, most are of the opinion that it is simply putting old ideas in a new ways. I agree with the author that Originality is not an innovation of information rather it is the ways by which new information is generated which can be useful in research and development.

The chief reason for my view is that the information is recycled in its own ways. Originality is valued at how much authentic the information is. For example, traditionally there was an offline approach to recharge your phones but with the new technology it is possible to achieve the same task by sitting at home at the finger of your tip. Additionally a concept originated of giving “Voucher/ Coupons” for recharges. This idea was originally achieved by Kunal Shah, Founder of Freecharge.

Finally it can be viewed as the same problems is solved with much easiness by just implementing in new ways.

The second reason for my view is that with the help of technology and science many new innovations and discoverability is achieved in past 10 years. With technology the old ideas are amalgamate and then worked on to produces new results i.e., Originality. Let’s look at the example of Amazon Drone delivery or Uber’s driverless car. Both the examples are the result of innovations from old ideas. Therefore, the result is a process of cumulation and formation of old thoughts/issues put into a new ways.

Therefore, it cannot be said that originality is limited only as something which was never thought of rather a solution to an issue achieved by implementing in new ways. Not only the issues but also theory where old information is kept as a reference for the new innovations leading to originality.