As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Relying on technology to solve problems will not deteriorate the human ability to think for themselves but in fact, it can increase human ability to think.

It is true that technology has made our life very comfortable, easier and has the ability to solve many problems but it does not mean that we don’t have to think. The technology of our generation cannot reason or think critically, it can only answer trivial and straight forward questions which can be answered by using step by step algorithm. For example technology answer the question “What is the current temperature on the city X?” but it cannot answer the question that requires reasoning and critical thinking like “What is life?” , “How does universe works?”.

Human being a creative and intellectual species do not like repeating the same thing again and again. Our brain always needs some kind of simulation this property makes us always think and try various different things even though the technology is solving our required problem. The main reason why we are relying more and more on technology is that machines can repeat the same thing again and again with very high accuracy and very high speed as compared to human doing the same thing for the same number of times. And the things that we well know about, even are able to invent the machine to do that task, doing it, again and again, will not require any intellectual effort thus relying on the machine to solve this problem will not deteriorate human thinking capacity.

In fact, technology increases our ability to think. New technologies are enabling us to achieve things never possible before like with the help of technology we are able to take pictures of Pluto, able to explore Moon and many more. All these things are making human more and more curious to find out more things about our life and universe thus enabling us to think about things never thought before.

With the development of the technology if we reach a point where Artificial Intelligent is achieved then it may have the potential to deteriorate our thinking ability as it being smart can reason and think critically. But still, lots of problems will evolve like “How do we control these AI things?”, “How do we prevent these things for harming us?” all these problems will require profound creativity and reasoning ability thus forcing humans to think and reason even more.

Therefore, relying on technology to solve our problems will not deteriorate our ability to think but in fact, it can increase our ability.