As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The argument states that the increasing use of technology will slowly deteriorate the quality of our brain. Specifically, our thinking abilities to carry out ingenious tasks will surely worsen.

Admittedly, modern technology is increasing in performance quality with each passing year, thereby substantially increasing the number of users for the same. With better gadgets, it does seem viable that there will be a decline in the number of people performing an activity manually. However, I disagree with the conclusion that the use of such technology will account for the deterioration of the general thinking ability of humans.

The machines carrying out various tasks for humans are known to use artificial intelligence, which mainly emphasizes the fact that the existing smart technology is just a brainchild of a human's smarter engineering. The thinking ability will atrophy only from the lack of use, which is definitely not the case here. The creator of the product will have to creatively use his/her imagination to think of engineering solutions, while the builder of the product will have to rely on factual knowledge and research on the same to come up with a gadget that will satisfy the consumer market adequately. However, the chain of thinkers do not end there; the maintenance engineer is equally important to think of ingenious ways to increase the shelf life of the product as well as ensure longevity when in use.

However, the motion does seem to be right for people who aren't involved in the processes mentioned above. For the consumers who only use the technology, there is certainly a chance that they might now completely disregard the need to do the work manually. For example, people using the fantastical device, hoverboards, might refuse to walk even the small distances within their own houses. With the implementation of calculators in mobile phones, students and adults might just forget how to carry out simple mathematics in their heads. This would certainly lead to the brain to atrophy.

However, it is perhaps important to remember that technology, like everything manmade, has the special feature of brevity. The technology in our hands may give out any time, forcing us to carry out the work manually. Furthermore, there is a certain limitation in the kind of technology one might use for there are many more number of jobs in the world. While a person may comfortably rely on a certain technology, they still have to be dependent on their thinking abilities to carry out the rest.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the argument that the thinking ability in humans will slowly deteriorate as the use of technology steadily increases, for technology can never fully imitate the human mind. Thus, the use of the fantastical human mind will always be relied upon.