People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker asserts that people’s behavior is affected by forces. There are some kinds of people who only follow their way without influence by others. However, these people are the minority in the world. In my point of view, family, peer’s surroundings, and society have a considerable effect on people. Therefore, I strongly agree with the speaker.

To begin with, the family affects our hobby, choice of vocation, and value system. As parents’ children, people imitate their parent’s behavior, and they are eager to follow their parents’ vocation. If parents are doctors, children have a higher possibility to be a doctor as well in the future. With parents’ assistance, children can follow their way, fulfilling them to facilitate the development of vocation in the future. Whereas In the process of learning to value systems and skill development, parents also play a crucial role; For ensuring that children can form a positive value system, parents have to point out the negative behavior. In sum, people’s behavior is affected by family.

Secondly, peer pressure exercises an influence on our choice, since mainstream influences our behavior overwhelmingly, including study, vocation, and hobby. When studying at school, students stay with others for a long time. Due to long time getting along with classmates, students’ behavior is affected by each other; For instance, When students applied a major in the university, peer’s decisions will cause an effect on students. In a word, people’s behavior is influenced by peers easily.

Finally, society influences people’s behavior, because the law and culture also influence our behavior and choice. Living in the country, people have to follow the law, and culture of the country. The country’s law causes a restriction on people. In some countries, people have no freedom of speech, and they are incapable of giving opinions easily. Whereas in other countries having freedom of speech, people can give their opinion without any restrictions. In brief, society affects people’s behavior.

To sum up, family, peer’s surrounding, and society influences people’s behavior. As a result, I agree with what the speaker says.