People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

At first glance this statement seems paradoxical. How can people who are deeply committed to an idea or policy be critical of it? I disagree with this statement; I believe that people who are deeply committed to an idea or policy are not critical of it.

When an individual strongly believes in an idea, they tend to be blinded by the strong belief that they have towards it. In most instances, believers refuse to acknowledge and hear out other people’s criticism of that idea or policy. In such a scenario, there is little to no chance that they themselves are critical towards the policy that they so strongly believe in. For example, with increasing gun violence in the U.S.A, many people are voicing out their opinions against the second amendment and calling for a need to modify the current gun laws. However, the NRA and most pro-gun activists refuse to hear these criticisms. Whenever there is a mass shooting, the tendency to blame shifts towards anything but the guns. These pro-gun activists are so deeply committed to the second amendment that regardless of the gravity of the situation during mass shootings, they refuse to acknowledge that there is a need to change it i.e. be critical of the policy.

A similar situation can also arise when people have deep-rooted sentiments and religious beliefs. Listening to the values preached to them when growing up and having a large religious support base such as a church or other religious institution, people are so enrooted in these beliefs; they are convinced that their beliefs are true. As a result, they find it difficult to criticise these ideals even if these ideals need to be changed to suit the current 21st century mindset. For example, a religious leader may not support gay marriage despite acknowledging that everyone is equal in the eyes of god.

However, in some situations, people who are deeply invested in an idea or policy would want to perfect it by criticizing it repeatedly. In doing so, they would view the pros and cons of this idea or policy and take all factors into consideration to ensure that they have an answer for any questions or concerns the opponents put forward. These people are open-minded in their thinking in that they are able to acknowledge possible flaws in their ideas and think about concerns others might have. In politics this is quite common. For example, when Narendra Modi banned the 1000 and 2000 rupee notes in India, he had revised and re-revised the policy so thoroughly before putting it forward that when opponents voiced their concerns he was able to placate them.

In summary, most people who are deeply committed to an idea or policy are not critical of it as they believe in it strongly. Those who are critical are those who can foresee any concerns opponents might have and want to be able to have answers to these concerns.