People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Conversations about differing ideas and policies can be contentious and gruesome, no doubt, yet they are necessary to have none the less. Often times, a person may have a bias towards their own stance--unwilling to cater to any opposing viewpoints or counter-arguments. However, more often than not, it is a policy’s most zealous supporters that view it through the most critical lens--for how else can one sell their ideas to others while maintaining their own repute?

Slaves to our own minds, it is very difficult to criticize and reevaluate our own beliefs and stances, because in order to do that, you must essentially criticize and reevaluate yourself as a person. We often come to our decisions and conclusions based on our life experiences through our parochial perspective. Take for example, the current president of the United States, Donald Trump, who intensely advocated for the building of a concrete border wall during the times of his election campaign. Yet, after he has taken office, despite sound advice from his own trusted staff and proven evidence of better techniques to implement border security, Trump is unable to disassociate himself from his vision of building a concrete wall--even if, he himself, no longer believes in its efficiency or price tag. It is hard for people to be the critics of their own ideas and policies, because in order to do so, you must essentially admit that your own mindset and thought-process can sometimes be prone to failure.

Mostly, however, it is this very same reasoning that makes us the biggest critics of our own ideas and policies. Why would sometimes risk discord or contention from others if they are not fully invested in their own idea? To go out and sell one's idea to the general public—while risking their potential wrath--one must fully be prepared to defend their position from every angle and perspective. Take for example a popular United States senator, Bernie Sanders, who is a firm proponent of taxing high-earning citizens at a tax-rate close to seventy percent. In a largely capitalistic country, Sanders has been bombarded with vitriolic comments left and right, mocking and criticizing him for his 'socialistic' views. For Sanders to plausibly put out such a contentious stance, he must be able to defend it to its fullest extent--there is no room for error. Hence, it is often the most outspoken proponents and champions of ideas and policies who are its biggest critics, so that they can defend their positions to others.

Furthermore, the proposed ideas and policies of a person rest on their own backs and reputations. While sometimes, all that is at stake, is perhaps a teasing remark from a close friend who disagrees with your ideas, there are cases where this is much more on the line. Take for example the popular movement taking over Hollywood by storm: "The Me Too Movement." Victims of sexual assault and abuse have come forward to openly fight against their alleged attackers in a public social media platform’s such as Twitter, rather than settling it in a private court room. A concept that has opened them up to a litany of abuse and disbelief from the general public. Concepts and implementations of risky ideas such as "Me Too" can cause irrevocable damage to not only one's reputation but their own career as well. Hence, it is often in one's best interests to thoroughly examine their own ideas and policies before applying them or putting them out to the world.

The marketplace of ideas is essential to the functioning of a thriving society; however, the most revolutionary ideas and policies can be the most contentious ones as well. Hence, regardless of how difficult it may seem that someone can critique their own mindset and passionate beliefs, it is often the case that they indeed do so. Not only must they be able to defend their position to others, against an onslaught of opposition, but their entire reputation--and in some cases their livelihoods--depend upon the soundness of their reasoning and logic. However, in an age of misinformation, it is becoming easier and easier to push through unsound ideas and policies without solid reasoning or supporting evidence to back them up.