People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers

Our lives are full of decision-making, and some of these decisions we make are under an influence of emotions. The prompt argues that a decision made on emotions is probably poor if it is justified with logic afterward. I mostly agree with the prompt for three reasons.

First of all, emotions don’t account for the future well. You can’t plan several steps ahead with emotions. For instance, it would be wrong to select a university relying purely on emotions. Emotions may tell you that studying at one place would be more exciting than at the other one, but they won’t let you assess future job opportunities and scientific research potential. Such criteria should be evaluated before making the decision and that’s when logic and planning come to use.

Second, justifying the emotional decision with logic is a fallacy. It prevents the decision maker from changing his or her opinion after making the decision. For instance, if someone buys a sports car based on emotions, and then justifies the purchase with some logical arguments, like faster acceleration on the highways or more traction on wet roads, it will be harder for him to admit that the purchase was not that successful. Even if it becomes clear that driving a sports car is not convenient because of road quality and parking issues, it would be harder for this person to reconsider and buy a more practical car instead of this one. And the ability to reconsider is an important aspect of good decision-making.

However, it is still important to take emotions into account when making any decision. But one should account for future emotions, that will come as consequences of the decision, not the emotions during making it. Maybe buying a paperback book for studying instead of an electronic one is not very exciting by itself. Nevertheless, if the person enjoys reading paperback books, buying one may be well worth the price difference. The positive emotions may motivate this person to study more and achieve better results.

All things considered, making decisions based on emotions is not always a bad thing, especially when those emotions are indicative of emotions from the consequences of the decisions, but one should do some research and planning beforehand and should not try to justify those decisions with logic afterward.