"People work more productively in teams than individually. Teamwork requires cooperation, which motivates people much more than individual competition does."

Competition is nothing but is a process of self-improvement and in day to day life we face many competitions like at beginning of life from kinder garden to school to universities to job. If an individual has to show their talent and skills he has compete to their peers in that particular area. The given prompt is that when a person is given a task in a team one can work more productively than individually. But one has to prove his competence and skills in that particular work one has to work individually.

When a person works individually one has to overcome the challenges on his own which makes one a confident and self-dependent so that one cannot rely on other. For example, in a company when person has to do a certain work which requires skills and a challenging one if an individual can do it this will boost up his confidence than to working in a team.

When an individual has to perform a task in a team there should be cooperation, determination and hard work is required from each of the team member. Sometimes, for example If a task is given to a team to make a presentation in a team and each one of them assigned a task in order but if any one of them cannot complete his task on time or the task is not performed as per need than whole team has to suffer the punishment. This will show that one can do the same task more easily than in a team.

But sometimes there is a situation when an individual can perform better than an individually. For example, a person is weak in maths and the is given to them is related to maths, if one can work in a team one can get support from his teammates to overcome this difficulty or even perform better than his individual performance. There is one famous idiom is that One plus one is not equal to two it is equal to eleven.

Finally, I thought that when a person has to show his skills and want to become self-dependent one should have work individually but at the same time one has to understand how other people thought on the same task one has to work in a team.