People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Some people may debate that their behavior or decision are never influenced by others but I have different opinion on that. At some point of time in our life we behave or react dependent on others or based on some force. The "force" which make us behave differently can be a human, emotional, or situational which are beyond our control.

Let me give you an example of a Mumbaikar, resident of Mumbai where every second's count. Life of Mumbaikar runs with clock. People are so stressed and occupied, there is never a moment in the life when they are unproductive. Always thriving to make their and the loved one life well-heeled. Kids education, job security, or home loans there is always something to worry about. In over crowded train, traveling to work is like going for a war for them. This is how they start their miserable day. Any feather push from other irate them. They takes this anger to office which acts as supplements. By the end of the day when they returns home, they wants to spend time with his family but all anger or irritation saturated by the end of the day he passes on to their family for whom he/she is sacrificing their life. This is not how they wanted to behave but emotional stress eclipses their love.

Another example I would like to give are police officers. Their duty and responsibility for maintaining law and order demands them to be no-nonsense. Most of the cops plays 2 different personality, one that demands to be more stern and tough and other a fun-loving and caring family person. Same applies for military personal. No one wants to go for war or kill anyone but their commitment to protect their country appeals to do so.

Saying this there are some rare exceptions in this society as well. A rapist, no matter how stringent law enforcement is in place their barbarous attitude claims innocent victims. Serial killer, who are emotionally distressed and no respect for human life.

To conclude, I think for most of the people their behavior is influenced by people, things or emotional stressed surrounding them.