People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To what extent people could control their own behaviours is still an enigma for psychologists, economists and philosophers. At the end, people certainly desire freedom but are bounded by certain constraints. In today’s capitalist society, every enterprise is trying to gain profit by commercialising every product whether it’s necessary to well being of citizens or not. Though with the recent internet boom in the last few decades we are relatively more aware of the actual facts, the greed of corporations still plague our daily lives.

The purpose of above statement is to bridge the discussion between industrialisation and its effect on modern day employees. Majority of the institutions are now standardised due to influx of computers and automated machines. For example, the behaviour of manual labourers are determined by the pace at which a particular engine works as setup by engineers. The desk workers, too, are compelled to work according to a given set of instructions everyday with not much room for their own creativity. Certain advantages come with this kind of setup such as less error rate and higher rate of production but at the cost of monotonous lifestyle.

Furthermore, the consumers are craftily manipulated by media to buy products and services which they might not even need. Celebrities are often invited to endorse these commercial products to incite people to buy it so that their fans could relate more closely with their idol. Intricately designed showrooms and marketplaces are aesthetically built to attract citizens. Fast food vendors use brightly coloured banners to attract attention and to evoke subconscious hunger which has led to recent rise in obesity and weight related issues. Books are adapted into movies to boost its sales and increase its popularity among public. Though the above examples are not all necessarily negative, it does give a insight how much influence does the external factors have on us. Numerous strategies like these are continuously employed by corporations to trick general public into consuming goods which might even have adverse effect on our well being.

However, with the recent rise in trend of social media, these notorious methods have led to rise of awareness among common people who are now constantly battling against false propaganda. As an illustration, experts in personal finance have offered prudent advice about using credit cards less and spending money within one’s budgets. The ridiculous nature of few products are being exposed on social media platforms like youtube and people have started boycotting those companies. More and more people are retiring early to enjoy life and avoid the rat race which is ultimately designed for the interest of wealthy at the cost of lower middle class. As long as we continue to fight against the malign conduct of corporations, we still have chance to regain our freedom.

Consequently, it is quite true that people’s behaviour might not be fully under their control and is determined by the capitalist environment we live in today which is largely beyond our control, but as long as they realise the cause and confront it head on, the freedom could certainly be regained again.