The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

The political support of a leader is closely related to the achievements humans accomplished under his lead. For most people only results matter, hence solving big challenges will naturally inflate the perceived greatness of a leader. While his inherent skills are usually crucial for the success of challenges, other leaders with a strong relationship to their people can still be perceived as great when showing conscience and other leadership traits.

Still, a great leader will not only solve a challenge. The mere act of tackling such an attempt is a sign of his greatness. Elon Musk is considered one of the greatest leaders of our time precisely because of this trait. By facing challenges that most people not even perceive, such as leading humanity towards a multi planetary species, he earned his right to lead and the praise he receives.

Solving difficult challenges are most often also an indication for great skill. Abraham Lincoln surely would not have managed to create his legacy without his inherent reflection skills and his highly strategic thinking. While people descry mostly the results of his doings, those do not necessarily have to result from Lincoln's abilities. He might have been lucky, or the problem easier than perceived. Yet usually, challenges of such a dimension are rather correct with their implications about the leaders abilities.

Nevertheless, in situations where there is a strong connection between the leader and his people, challenges do not need to indicate the ineptness of that person. One such example is Angela Merkel. With her frequent and often close contact to her voters, she was able to show her ability to keep a country in burgeon, without tackling dazzling problems.

So to conclude, while there are few examples of leaders, being perceived as highly capable without pompous challenges faced, more often than not, such difficulties are the most palpable and hence are more important for their footprint in history.