Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.

The goal of progress in society is to feel more comfortable. Unfortunately this feeling is not guaranteed and the fear of the unknown has often a valid reason. Hence it is not true, that progress should always be the aim of any great society. If the current situation is comfortable enough and future oriented, a society could be great without the constant strive for progress.

To grow as a society, the individual first has to overcome the fear of the unknown. This fear has helped us to survive for the past hundred thousands of years for good reasons. Religious traits, such as wearing a burka, or going to church every week, might seem obsolete at first. Recent studies however, showed, that the current rise in depression might correlate to the rising atheistic believe. Certain ways of thinking might seem obsolete at first glance, but the dramatic effects when discarded will only show afterwards, and might not be worth the risk.

Furthermore, what reason is there to always strive for more? People that follow such an ever striving life, often do accomplish great things. Yet, when asked if they are happy, they respond that they still did not achieve enough. As the author of the argument rightly stated, people enjoy feeling comfortable, but the only reason to progress, and take risks is to increase the possibilities to feel comfortably. Surely many people enjoy the feeling of progress itself, nevertheless this should not be a maxim of society, but instead a personal choice.

Of course there are countless areas in history, where it did pay off to overcome the fear of the unknown. One example is Martin Luther's revolution of the christian believe system, which liberated millions of people from unnecessary restrictions. Another example is industrialisation itself which allowed all of mankind to life a fundamentally more comfortable life, but the further civilization progresses, the more seldom such occasions will occur. At one point, the risk in depriving the precedented way of thinking and the progress gained will find an equilibrium. And at this point there should not be any maxim forcing society to take ever-increasing risks. Ultimately even threats that might eradicate society completely, such as the potential danger of a general artificial intelligence, can rise and make progress potentially cataclysmic.

Hence, while the wish for progress is understandable, it's only goal is to make the current situation more satisfactory. However, when the current situation is acceptable already, and the risk to great, it should be a personal choice to take the risk of progress, not a social maxim.