People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People, that are committed to a goal on a deep emotional level, will have several reasons to be as critical to this goal as they only can. Indisputably, people like to judge, an even be overly critical towards a topic without a proper basis on which this criticism is build upon. Yet, the most deeply committed person will want to make sure, to assess every point of the issue, in order for it to succeed, and hence will try to find more possible problems with this issue as anybody else. Thus i generally agree, that people most deeply connected to a cause, will also be the most critical of all.

While there is an incredibly high level of maturity needed for this kind of honest self-reflection, only a person that achieves such maturity can really be deeply committed to it. For this person it will be so important to make that goal come true, that this person will forget any wish-thinking and instead will try to predict every possible bad outcome in order to prevent it. One such person that has mastered this to the fullest is Elon Musk. His deep motivation to send humanity to another planet has caused him to also be the most critical person towards his own company SpaceX. At the early stages of the company he was not referred to as a micro manager, but as a nano manager, as he dived so deeply into every single aspect of his company in order to find possible problems, that an employee, less committed to this cause, might overlook.

Another reason for a deeply committed person to be critical, is also, to be able to convince any of his opponents of his cause. The ancient greek politician Pericles had mastered this trait. Before going to the empodium and talking to the people, he would think day and night about his plan, trying to find any weak point that could be found, and only then, after either changing his plan to no longer include any weak point, or disarm them, he would present his idea or policy, and convince every single critic of it. With Athen as the first and truest democracy, where many of the citizens personally attended such discussions, this was a necessity for his plans to be executed. The burgeon of Athens and the sudden collapse after his death speak of the success of this method.

Surely one could argue, that there are no limits to the pessimism of a person towards any given idea, but such a person will not count as critical, as a critical opinion always necessitates an objective position. Once personal interests or believes are considered, and the person does not react to logical argumentation, it will be mere obdurate pessimism and nothing more.

In conclusion, although it is understandable to state, that there could always be a person criticizing an idea more than any of ist most committed proponents, such a person will not count as critical because of a lack of objectivity. Great Leaders such as the ancient Pericles, or the very vivid Elon Musk show, that at the deepest level of commitment, one will develop a maturity that will make a most critical position towards any idea or policy a necessity for this idea or policy to succeed.