A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the rights to benefit from his or her own labor.

Breaking a law in any country is considered as a crime, whether the crime is performed knowingly or unknowingly, it anyway breaks the law. Many believe that if a person knowingly commits crime, then he or she must not retain any civil rights. Yes, it is reasonable to agree with the author about taking away the rights after the crime could be the justice, but many believe that it depends on what type of crime the person makes. If he breaks a trafffic law and drives without following any rules then it is not reasonable to take away his rights to drive, instead he must be punished with harsh fines. I partly agree with the author that if a person knowingly commits crime then one should take away the civil rights from the culprit for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is true that if a person is making a crime even after he or she knows that it is not a legal movement to perform such act, then still giving the civil rights to the culprit is not agreeable. This would encourage more people to perform crime which will break more social contracts and there will be no fear in any person to perform crimes. Consider, breaking a shop and stealing all the things from the shop by pointing the gun at the owner, the law should immediately take back his gun licence and should never be able to get his gun licence back. Definetely for crimes like these should be taken a harsh steps against them and taking away his or her civil rights is considerable. One would not perform such crimes if he or she knows the outcomes after getting caught.

However, taking the civil rights and all the benefits from his or her own labor is not agreeable for all the crimes. Some crimes that even though made knowingly, still should not be punished harshly such that he or she can not be able to retain any civil rights. Take for example, driving a car at prohibited area, if a person drives car at prohibited area then he should be fined for it but not punished so harshly that taking away the rights to drive. For crimes like these, it is not reasonable to take away all their benefits and civil rights. Sometimes this could be injustice to people for performing such small crimes that could be easily given another chance to the culprit.

In conclusion, one should retain or should not retain his or her civil rights or the benefits from his or her own labor should depend on the crime he or she performs. If one performs an unforgiveable crime then it is reasonable not to give back civil rights but if the crime is such where he or she can be punished with not that harsh punishment, in such case he should be able to retain the civil rights.