The purpose of many advertisements is to make consumers want to buy a product so that they will 'be like' the person in the ad. This practice is effective because it not only sells products but also helps people feel better about themselves.

The speakers asserts that the main objective of advertisements is not only to sell the products but also to make consumers believe that the person inside ads is like them only. This claim is very subjective as it's vary from person to person. However, most of the time it works like a charm. At some extent, it is true that this method is effective because at least, it makes person believe that the situation describe in the ad is currently the same for them. However, it's up to audience and how they want to take that ad.

People, who are working in the advertisement department in any organization, are very creative. They know exactly how to sell the product and which method will be good to sell the company's product. So, they come up with brilliant ideas for ad by thinking exactly the same as person who will be watching the ad. But this won't work every time. If person who is well educated, they know that the ad is just an exaggerated version to represent the company's product. But, that doesn't mean they will never try to buy the product. They can still give a chance to that product and they will use it for some period of time. If they do not feel any difference with their existing product then they can discontinue with the new product and continue using their old product. After using the product if they feel any positive difference then they will continue using the new product even if that product is costlier than their old product.

Moreover, we are voyeurs and we feel good vicariously if someone, who has same quality as us, is improving themselves using some product. So, we tend to fall for the trap set by advertisement people and we would try to experiment with product. For example, some beauty cream company advertise their product by showing one woman with dull skin initially. But after using the company's product for some time they can become feel their skin is glowing. If audience who has same problem as the woman in the ad then they would give buy that product and experiment with it.

Now a days, advertisement people are improving a lot and they are becoming more and more innovative. They are not just concentrating on making people believe that the person in the ad is similar to the people who are watching it. They also try to connect with people's emotions. The more people are attached to the ad the more they will inclined to buy that product.

In this way, it is very good practice by advertisement people to use the method of connecting their audience by believing that they might be facing the same problem as the person in the ad is facing. However, by using the ad product they can no longer face the same problem or they can completely avoid that problem. As already discussed, this method will not work for the entire audience as it's entirely up to person who is watching the ad how that person will take that ad.