In Megalopolis, the number of law school graduates who went to work for large, corporate firms declined by 15 percent over the last three years, whereas an increasing number of graduates took jobs at small, general practice firms. Even though large firms usually offer much higher salaries, law school graduates are choosing to work for the smaller firms most likely because they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller firms. In a survey of first-year students at a leading law school, most agreed with the statement that earning a high salary was less important to them than job satisfaction. This finding suggests that the large, corporate firms of Megalopolis will need to offer graduates more benefits and incentives and reduce the number of hours they must work.

As per the data suggested in the argument, graduate students are preferring small law firms to work for instead of larger firms, who offer higher salaries. By this data, newspaper is coming to conclusion that larger corporate firms need to offer more incentive and reduce the number of working hours for the employees. The drawn conclusion has various flows in it. The data suggested in the arguments is not driving the given conclusion.

First of all, the data present in the argument is in percentage forms. We cannot compare the data without actual numbers. The argument is merely suggesting that there is a decline of 15% of graduate students going to large corporate firms. The actual number of graduate students, who are going to larger law firms, may be still higher than students who are going to small firms.

Secondly, from the data we can't get the actual the data of salaries of small and large firms. It is just mentioned that larger firms offer higher salaries. But it does not provide the data about the salaries offered at small firms. The difference between the salary may not be that high. So, we cannot conclude based on this parameters that graduate students are choosing small firms over larger corporate firms.

Thirdly, the job satisfaction may not be the only parameter which is driving graduate students to smaller law firms. There can be various parameters which graduate students are considering before choosing their career. Like the larger firms may not be providing the better opportunities to their employees as smaller firms are providing. The smaller firms may be closer to their houses and larger firms are at outskirt in the city. So, these data can also driver students to choose their dream firm.

Last but not least, there is no comparison of work hours between large corporate firms and small firms. Without comparing the work hour’s data we cannot conclude that graduate students are more inclined towards small firms over large firms. Also the survey taken to conclude the argument is not valid. This survey only include the students from first year at law school. Now, these students may not have good exposure to the industry at this early stage. So this survey’s data does not consider to be generalized for all students.

To sum up, there are no solid data which is giving full proof to the conclusion. There are various parameters mentioned earlier which newspaper has failed to consider like location or opportunities provided at various firms. Also, there are possibilities which are not consider in this argument like larger firms might have start recruiting only from the selected law school and they stop appearing on the career job fair. In this way the conclusion drawn hold no waters. To come to the full proof and valid conclusion, newspaper should consider more parameters and it should provide more rigid data compare to the current data.