Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. in developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement suggests the scandal has superior function than speaker and reformer. Considering the scandal always attracts our attention quickly; it is common that a scandal is easily spreading throughout the country within a day. Contrary to the speaker and reformer, they stump to propagandize his or her thought. It takes month or even years. Therefore, I agree that the statement that scandal is useful is valid.

Scandal helps problem solve rapidly because population is focusing on it. In order to recognize the validity of this point, it is necessary to consider that for various reasons many people are nosy. They love to discover the secret and discuss it. As a result, the statistic report shows that the tabloid hit its best retail record when they unveil a scandal. When the story is huge enough to call as scandal, the population’s overly inquisitive causes society digging into it. Always there is an example that a reformer spot an issue but the government is not real working on it because of lacking attention. Many society and political issue still remain hitherto. Our people need to oversee our government and the scandal is one of the most effective ways. For example, two years ago in Taiwan, there was a scandal that cram school teacher was sexual harassment on the high school teenager girl student and it result the girl depressed and committed suicide later. Population is astonished by this news and government soon investigates and sets stricter regulation on cram school’s teacher. Entire legislation process only took three months. Scandal can helps further teens free from criminal’s evil attempt. Scandal can also make us focusing on solving problem.

Furthermore, Scandal not only makes entire social focus on this issue for a long time, but also ensures the issue not repetitive in the future. Political issue and society problem need a long-term surveillance even after the problem solved. People are following the issue because scandal makes people emotionally involve. It is hard to forget. Subsequently, A scandal serves as reference for future decision. As the above example, if later the government wants to modify the regulation on cram school to make it looser, one of the lawmaker can raise the past tragedy as a stopper. With the vivid scandal in the past, lawmaker will work more carefully for the future.

On the other hand, the opponent may contend that peeking through other’s private life is not moral and this practice has bad influence on the society. For example, if his or her secret can be discovered, our privacy is as same as open to everyone. Others might constantly watch our private life. While it does impair personal privacy, it isn’t altered it function as attracting the attention. Little bad influence isn’t obscure its merit. Another counter on this point is simply asking that “why you are afraid to be watched?” a candid person don’t have secret that will harm others, but officer might have it. Our well-being is always affected by government officer and great company. Those celebrities’ decisions and behavior are certainly influenced by population’s attention because scandal in the past. Nobody likes to see a deluge of paparazzi in front of your home. Likewise, many surreptitious deal and under table business, which jeopardizes local resident’s life, are afraid of unveiling by tabloid. It is another way to threaten the bad guys. Thus, the power of scandal actually helps to maintain the safety of our welfare.

In summary, I stand for the statement that scandal is useful. The negative meaning of scandal brings positive result to our life. Although it damages a bit on privacy issue, it is able to attract our attention of extremely large audience. They not only help we spot and solve the problem, but also oversight the celebrity on certain scale. Scandal is useful and the most effective way to attract attention than speaker and reformer.