Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Normally associated with negative occurrence, scandal reveals human’s fundamental character, hence trite of human nature shows our tendency to be excited by the scandal. In this way, scandal itself could have a function that force us to focus on particular events which no eloquent speaker or reformer with incendiary comments could facilitate. Used efficiently, scandal can be effective for gathering attention in particular direction. However, it is not always the case.

Although it can be considered as a tool to deflect our attention away, scandal could engender severe consequences. Take an example of celebrity whose libertine private life was revealed in gossip magazine. Possible consequence could be a break up of his family, which could be painful experience if he had little children. Further, because of his scandal, his on-going film project could be postponed or canceled. This affects not only him but also film staffs – they might lose means of living. In this case, whilst scandal could be useful to change the position of celebrity in the industry, which could not have been done otherwise, the potential consequence after scandal being brought up can be severe, hence to call scandals are useful can be called into question.

Whilst the above example of consequence caused by celebrity’s scandal might be limited to relatively small number of people, scandal at the government level could leads to devastating results of many people. Take an example of Japan’s pension fund scandal. It was revealed that Liberal Democratic Party that ruled Japan since the end of the Second World War had concealed miscalculation of pension distribution. As can be easily figured out, the consequence was severe. There were many pensioners who had already passed away before they received rightfully entitled monthly pensions. Some had passed away without being received enough medical treatment due to a lack of money. Of course, the government quickly calculated the correct amount and distributed to the family, the person who could have received medical treatment could not be resurrected. Therefore, scandal can reveal the administration’s mistake and gave the government to correct the mistake, it does not have any use to be useful in changing the situation which had already happened.

Whilst in general scandals cannot be useful in the above examples, an intriguing example of scandal can be stated - election campaigns. Whilst it is not very much appreciative habits, candidates or campaign staffs have unavoidable tendency to reveal oppositions’ bad sides. Revealing scandal, in this case, dark past of oppositions, could be the best way to turn their supporters’ attention. Surely, if the revealed scandal was opposition’s social life at university, zealots will not take their focus away. However, if it was dirty business that comes with potentially criminal charges, the story would be different – former zealots will turn their backs. This could not have happened for a candidate or his staffs with just promoting its manifestos – scandal enabled opposition to lose the attention. Whilst revealing scandal of oppositions might not be amicable trite as a human being, in particular election candidate, revealing the truth of candidate could be useful due to the subject matter, or election, who are to govern the vicinity.

We are all humans. We like gossip. Otherwise gossip magazines or news paper will not be best sellers. Fundamentally, scandal can be a useful tool to refocus people’s attentions. However, in considering with the consequences, it is hard to argue that scandals are useful, ethically speaking. Nonetheless, if scandals are used appropriately, like an example of election campaign, it could hold a status of usefulness. Hence, subject matters.