Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals have temptations and they draw easy attention of public. But it is so far to say that scandals are useful for converging public focus on problems way better than a reformer or activist. Scandals are not auspicious components for a society. Scandals can be means of popularity, but those come with certain moral, economic or other cost to the society. There are many instances throughout the world where reformers or speakers drew attention to certain problems and came up with a solution. Scandals are hardly seen taking major roles in solving problems. Also there are mostly a reformer or activist involved in bringing out scandals to public notice.

To begin with, we can talk about independence of India. Mahatma Gandhi is known as the key activist who took the lead of independence movements in India. Through his persuasive and articulate public speaking, Mahatma Gandhi could make the people of India understand the meaning of independence and drawbacks of British rule in India. Eventually he gained support from people of the entire country of India and helped India gain independence in the year 1947. This is a clear example where a speaker or reformer made people construe the idea of independence and drawbacks of being under a foreign rule. No scandal helped in the independence movement of India.

Similar kind of movement took place in South Africa. There was a time when indigenous black people of South Africa were not provided the equal rights as that of the white people enjoyed. We all know about Nelson Mendella, a reformer, who could focus the attention of black people on the problems they were facing and eventually succeeded in providing the equal rights to the black people. Clearly there was no scandal driving the movement and people’s understanding of the problem.

However, one must admit that Scandals do get attention from people far better than any other mean. For example, there is an infamous scandal of 2G GSM license in India dated back in 1998. This scandal is an eye opening for people of India on irregularities and deceptiveness of the telecom industry. But the scandal has contributed to economic loss to people of India. In no way it can be a useful phenomenon. Also it was the effort of activists or reformers which bought out the scandal to public notice. Therefore, Scandals paves the way for public focus on problems but the role of a reformer or speaker can never be ignored.

In sum, activists or reformers are unavoidable in drawing public attention to problems or discrepancy in a society although scandals ease the process to a greater extent. That being said, giving more credit to scandals than reformers for revealing problems to public makes less sense.