Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether scandals are more effective to attract people’s attention to a specific problem than any speaker or reformer. Indisputably, scandals are very powerful in focusing people’s attention. Nevertheless, there are some speakers and reformers than can attract people’s attention more effectively. Thus, I generally disagree with the claim and I would argue in some occasions speakers and reformers can do a better job in attracting population’s attention.

Whenever a scandal occurs, it is intensely promulgated through all the means of communication. News relating to a scandal appear in the first page of each newspaper, are copiously publicized in social networks and give rise to many TV programs relating to the subject. In addition, even if a person is too distracted to notice the occurrence of a scandal through this way, they will probably notice it when they talk to someone else who will almost certainly talk about it. Therefore, scandals are really efficacious in attracting people’s attention and one could easily think they are more effective than the discourse of any speaker or reformer.

However, not only scandals are promptly propagated but also the discourses of some speakers such as celebrities. An example of this is the actress Emma Watson who drew people’s attention to the problem of discrimination between sexes with a discourse she made some years ago, denouncing errors in the education of boys and girls. Her discourse was seen by millions of people around the world.

In addition, as fast as scandals infest people’s minds, they are forgotten, becoming useless in attracting people’s attention to a specific problem in the long-term. For example, throughout politics history, many scandals of corruption have existed. In spite, of people are momently aware that some politic is corrupt, some years later they completely forgot this and the politic is again elected in the polls. In these case as usually, the scandal was not enough for people to understand the problem, this is, they could not understand this politic was a corrupt. Instead, they are easily manipulated by their discourse, which is a very powerful tool.

In fact, a speaker or reformer who is talented in the art of convincing people can attract much more attention to a problem. One example of this is Hitler, who, in the last century was able to convince people Jews were a problem for society. It was not resorting on scandals he could catch their attention, but using demagogic techniques.

In conclusion, speakers and reformers can be as useful or even better as scandals in attracting people’s attention. A talented speaker or reformer can always draw people’s attention to a specific problem.