Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents

The idea of sorting a child into a path has been a feature of many fictional societies for many years now. The overarching idea is an early analysis of the child’s brain used to sort them into career paths they will be trained to adopt later in life. Such changes to society could have many benefits. For starters, by funnelling people into careers they are suited to from birth has the potential to reduce unemployment rates drastically, which has great implications for any society on a totalitarian level. This could also progress many fields at an astronomical rate. While this all sounds good on paper, do these possible boons outweigh the inescapable drawbacks of such a society? Two glaring weaknesses in such a setup are that the individuals’ feelings are not accounted for when choosing their career, and the class system that would no doubt become entrenched over the years following its implementation.

To their credit, the fictional societies where such measures are implemented are often ridiculously advanced. By streamlining someone’s early development towards a particular career, these individuals are set up for the theoretically easiest transition into the working world. This eliminates a lot of the pressures and decision making from their lives up until that point and minimises the risk of “wrong” career choices in one’s life. A quick inspection of the bigger picture makes it obvious: by directing everyone to jobs according to their ability and talents, the risk of unemployment for everyone goes down. Reducing unemployment has several effects on society, including increasing GDP per capita, reducing crime and improving overall quality of life. Secondly, such a system would increase the talent concentration in certain fields, like medicine and natural sciences. By doing this, it can improve the timeline of several breakthroughs and accelerate the amelioration of several pestilences that haunt society today. These are huge boons for such a system, but are they worth it?

While on paper, it would be great to choose jobs for people based on their perceived talents, human beings are just not that simple. Much more goes (or should go) into choosing a profession that what someone is good at. A system like that cannot possibly consider an individual’s feelings about a certain field far into the future of their life or where their interests and passions lie. This can lead to job dissatisfaction in many instances, which can have adverse effects on one’s mental health. Negatively affecting someone’s mental health like this has been shown to decrease their productivity on several accounts and has even been postulated to increase instance of physical diseases as well. Given that increased productivity is one of the major boons of the proposed situation, this fact is a heavy blow against instituting such a system. Additionally, it is in humans’ nature to compare ourselves to those people we share space with. In the overwhelmingly capitalist society we live in, certain careers cannot be paid the same way; someone who is classed as a doctor will make more, on average, than a hairdresser or a teacher. Classing people in any form, by any metric, has always led to rampant discrimination and infringement of the rights of those on the wrong side of the walls we build between ourselves. A society like the one suggested would only entrench issues of wealth distribution and classism we currently struggle with, at best shuffling the names of the one percent around. Is the progress worth it? Does it benefit us to progress the economy and the sciences at the risk of endangering the mental health of some and the rights of others?

So, is such a society doomed to fail, or is there a way to implement the streamlining while keeping a high standard of health and civil liberty? I do not think so. The measures that would have to be put in place to account for personal biases, while still fundamentally driving everyone to a career based on their talents would just replicate the society we have today. Any deviation towards such a setup could be detrimental for many people in the long run, and such risk, even in the name of progress, in unacceptable.

In conclusion, a society where people’s careers are determined by an outside party based on their talents and aptitudes, works amazingly on paper. An ideal situation would portray a utopia with record lows in unemployment and record highs for productivity and standard of living. However, in practice, such a fantastical community is just that: a fantasy. In reality, humans have many more facets involved in their decision making, and ignoring this can lead to adversely affected mental health. Additionally, sorting a society into boxes based on ability can only lead to discrimination.