Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The above topic presents two sides of a quandary that every student out of high school is struck with before entering college. Unarguably, it is one of the hardest decision making almost every human goes through in their life time especially for the ones caught between passion and success. Nevertheless, choosing one of them is inevitable and is incumbent upon each one of us. Personally, one motivated by strong passion should always prefer a field his/her interest to a field with wide job market.

It is important for one to work towards their own bright future. Choosing a career path is a complex decision to make. But when one can be certain that a particular field that offers promise for ineluctable success, why opt for a field that can’t guarantee growth unless you are amongst the top hundred specialists of that field? Before taking a leap into the next big stage of life, one needs to pause for a moment and consider the interests of people around. Respecting parents efforts in bringing us to a position where we’re now eligible to go to college is morally important. It is them without who we wouldn’t have been able to afford school, books, toys or extra-curricular tuitions of our interests(this statement is driven by personal experiences from my childhood). It is now our turn to pay tribute to our parents by making a choice that will promise them of our brighter future. So when it comes to the presented dilemma, the obvious choice might point to the field of study that has surfeit of jobs.

There is of course the question of passion. A student could be immensely passionate about a particular sport field. There are students who have been trained in a particular sport since their childhood. Such students have no lack for talent. Should such a student not follow his/her passion? Should a student oppress his acquired talent just because it does not guarantee success? The question can be translated to “Is the student determined enough to become one of the most cherished/applauded in that field?” There’s an apothegm, “where there is will, there is a way”. If the student has a strong will power, he/she could definitely work towards becoming their best version in that field. For such people, there are no obstacles.

Best examples of students who followed their passion are PV Sindhu, a badminton great and Serena Williams, a tennis champion. PV Sindhu, international badminton player who represents India almost in every badminton championship held, has been trained for it since she was as young as a first grade kid. Same goes for Serena Williams. When they started out they were still embryonic in their games. They must have had great determination to becomes world’s best at their games. Indisputably, they have amazing careers that pay huge sums incomparable to routine jobs. Such examples do prove that going after passion also holds a bright future, probably brighter than the mundane jobs that masses go for.

In conclusion, choosing a career path that has greater scope for jobs may seem convenient for it is less stressful and saves us and the people entrusting us with the decision making from anticipating what our future beholds. However, if the student is confident enough to succeed in an unconventional field, he/she must work relentlessly towards his/her goal. Honestly, it is important to not regret the decisions we make especially long-term ones like this.