Some people believe that corporation have a responsibility to promote the well-being societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided thay operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

The statement linking the corporations with their responsibilities plays on the recent human experience of the previous centuries. There had been no time in the history where the corporation have impacted the lived life of humnans more dramatically. A quick reflection of daily life will show that a regular day in a person life is surrounded by the corporate sector starting from banking facilities to the news and the social network. A country, willing to make a significat cotrbution on the global scale, can afford to overlook the importace of the corporate sector only at its on peril.

The statemt attmepts to differentiate the moral duties of the corporation towards the societies and environment, in which they thrive, and the ir legal commitments to the government. It is valid to expect that the corporations should contribute to the well-being of the society and the environment. Because a self-sustained and balanced environment can promote the growth of the corporation. For example, consider the companies that depend on the trees for the raw material. A well maintained forest area can facilitate the availabity of the raw material. By contributing to the conservation of the forest area they can be assured that the supply of the raw material is remains adequate.

Although it is benificial for the corporation to promote the well-being of their surrounding, it is not at all mandatory for them to participate in such activities, if they are not obliged to do so by the law. People need not sit on their behalf and expect them to promote the well being of the society and environment. The society is made of people, and once the damaged is done by the corportion, it is always the people who will have to work to make up for it. The corportions can be shutdown the people and society cannot.

Given the history of human race, there will be no limit to the number of problems, directly or indirectly, affecting the environment and the society. It is reasonable to expect that the corporation to contribute to the well-being of the society and the environment. However, leaaving it all up to them is a bit too extereme. In the end, it is the people who run the corporation and the people who will have to face the consequences of the damage done to their surroundings.