Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Τhe governmental financial support of the arts was always a controversial issue for the societies. Plenty of artists assert that the financial support of the governments is necessary in order the artists to have the adequate material equipment to create accordingly with their talent. On the other hand, a wide range of people support that the involvement of the governments in the promotion of arts would lead to censorship and a strict frame of art production. It is my personal belief that the governments should involve in the art production and with a responsible attitude to allocate the required fundamental financial support to promote the enhancement of the culture.

Indeed, many products of artists like paintings, statues and movies have been censored from governments which financially supported the creators. From the ancient times until our era, people in authority were keen on to control the artists and produce creations which would not doubt their power. For instance, the movie Ottoman Empire which had been produced by a Turkish producer under the governmental financial support, it does not make any reference on the end of the Ottoman Empire and all the events that happen and lead to the foundation of Turkey. On the other hand, the correspond novel, upon is based the movie, describes accurately all the historical facts with the violence and genocides of the Christians population in the area.

Though, a flourished art means an enhanced culture and of course the promotion of art and culture is one of the responsibilities of each government. That is that reason that in each government there is a Ministry of Culture which is responsible for the promotion of art and the cultivation of the culture. One of the field of responsibilities of this factor of governance is to make the art affordable for all the citizens of a country, independently of their financial situation. For instance, in Greece, the government budgets theatre productions which organized in ancient theatres like Epidaurus, in order all citizens to live this unique experience.

Moreover, many artist are living in poor conditions and they need the governmental economical support to be equipped with the necessary material equipment in order to produce their art. For example, in France, the government assist young producers to purchase all the equipment in order to produce their first movie.

To conclude, the financial support of arts was always a controversial issue as evolves aspects like the integrity of artist, yet it is considered that a responsible economical support is crucial for the promotion of art and the enhancement of culture.