Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Science and technology provided so many things that make our life easier. New devices are added continuously in our life. Things which were considered luxury are necessity now. With this increasing number of services and devices, consumption of energy is increasing exponential. Author claims here that individual living in developed nations should go for sustainable lifestyle in order to reduce energy consumption. In my opinion this would be good step in the direction to protect our planet. But author claims that only developed nations' citizens should do it is little extreme to support.

The more we consume the energy, more will be the pollution if energy generated from non-renewable energy source. Our consumption of energy directly results in pollution which affects the global climate. For example, going to office by driving car directly creates air pollution. When we turn on our television it doesn't create pollution but the electricity through which it is on has alreaady created pollution by burning coal or other natural resources. So limiting our consumption is very much needed to stop the global climate changes.

Further, author contends that people living in developed nations should reduce energy consumption. It is true that energy consumption per capita of any developed country is too much higher than that of developing country like India or china or any other third world country but only appealing to the people of developed nations is not the answer. It is true that developed nations' citizen should control their consumption more compared to developing nations, but now practice should be such that all the people on this planet act against climate change. Consequences will affect not only developed nations but all. Rise in temperature is global not limited to any particular country.

However, living without a car or a mobile phone is difficult to imagine. We cannot live without electricity now. But solutions can be found such as carpooling or people should avoid driving car for one person and use the local transport instead. Government should invest in renewable energy generation projects abnd encourage it such as wind energy or solar energy.

In a conclusion, not only developed countries but all over people on the planet have to take steps in the direction of sustainable lifestyle. People in developed countries should try to reduce their energy consumption and citizens of developing countries should try not to increase the consumption further. Projects such as wind farms or solar energy farms should be encouraged so that pollution free energy available to the people.