Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

changing the lifestyle of people who live in developed country is not a top priority for current situation of solving global climate problem.

First, it is hardly promising to contain the climate change by reducing the energy consumption of people. lifestyle is rooted in our personality and cannot been changed immediately. And it is the large amounts of gases such as carbon dioxide, not the energy consumed, that caused the climate change. Although energy is highly related to carbon dioxide pollution, energy can be used safely when generated in clean ways such as solar and wind energy. What's more,even if reducing energy consumption can efficiently slow the procedure of global warming, the difficulty we met when trying to quantify the damage caused by energy-consuming activity make this argument less practical. For example, it is not sure how much energy will be consumed when we open our PC and watch a piece of video on the internet. because we don't know how many computation have been made to supply an intellectual daily recommendation for us, and how many servers are running to make sure that we can watch this video anywhere at any time, the energy behind a simple click could be huge. So reducing energy consumption is neither likely to be effective--because it's an indirect cause--nor likely to be practical.

Second, global climate change is not only because of developed country. Instead, developing country like China is also a major carbon dioxide producer. climate change is a global issue requires collaborate efforts. it is not likely to contain the change successfully until the majority of countries are persuaded to make a change.

Furthermore, the international company as well as big factory which consumes huge quantities of energy, is vital to climate change. The solution to them, however, is switching to a environmental friendly industry system by technological innovation.

Indeed, change of lifestyle could lead to a more sustainable environment.