Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Energy consumptions and global warming has always been interlinked from the past. Global warming results from the emission of greenhouse gases such as co2, so2, ch4 and others similar and more toxic gases. The source of such production has always been the mega cities with mega industries and people having high standards of life. So, the claim is justifiable in saying it is utmost for the people in more developed countries to reduce the energy consumption and lead a more of a balanced approach to life. Whereas the other half of people who believe changes in lifestyle is unwarranted are those who are stubborn enough not to give up the ease of life and use of the sources of such toxic products which is far more driven by hedonism and personal motives and cannot be justified.

As explained earlier, global warming has been the issue of century. It poses many threats to the individual even with the chances of extinction of human and other races due to extreme changes in the weather which are not cope-able in the future. The major cause of the global warming are those toxic and harmful gases such as mentioned earlier which arise from the use of different energy sources such as gases, petrol, coals and other such energy producers.

Let us take an example of china, some years ago a data was collected which showed more number of cars in china than human population. Deeming the fact the china is the most populated country in the world the number of automobiles is staggering. The smoke it produces and the toxic materials accumulated in the atmosphere is unimaginable. In this scenario, if the individuals give up on such luxury and start using public vehicles and cycles or some other safer measures, the problem is definitely going to reduce.

Along with china, many other superpowers of the world such as America, Japan, Russia, the condition is similar. In addition to the auto-mobiles they have mega factories and structures that continuously pollutes the atmosphere with their toxins. All the motives of such industries are the same: hedonism and materialism. As the evidences of global warming are already seen such as rise of temperature more than 2 degree Celsius in last 100 years, rise of sea level in coastal regions, many of the vertebrates going extinct, the hole in Antarctica ozone layer, the melting of the ice and polar caps. Such existence-threatening incidents cannot go unnoticed and it is imperative for individuals to think above themselves for once.

However, there are sayings that global warming is a natural phenomenon and humans have no role in it, it doesn't hold true. The activities of human has accelerated the causes of global warming and if not controlled is a real threat to human existence all together.

In a nutshell, the human behavior, more so the behavior of the people of developed countries who thrive on the causative agents of global warming i.e. energy sources that produces greenhouse gases. It is a compulsion that they must reduces their usage and live a more sustainable life and approach given the evidences of global warming. Also the people who think human action have no role in such natural occurrences should extend their horizon and lead a more balanced approach as all is not lost. And still we have the chance to continue our existence.