Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Teachers are one of the most important parts of any human structure as; they provide education and knowledge to decide the future of any country. I mostly agree with the statement in the prompt that understanding the student and empathy towards them is one of the vital qualities of an effective teacher. A teacher encounters all kinds of questions throughout the day with multiple schools of thought, hence to understand the question and to comprehend a student’s mindset is very important. However, at times such a soft approach and a soft nature don’t do the job that’s the time when a rigorous and demanding behavior’s need kicks in. For example, teachers face all kinds of behavior in their daily routine, students at times gets stubborn regarding their demands and wills. In order to get the best out of a student, a demanding nature is also required.

However, a teacher with an understanding nature and a will to get to the core of a student’s query or doubt or question, he/she will be able to comprehend the problem faced by the student better than the one who’s just demanding and needs to get done with things. For instance, if a student who faced some sort of an issue in submitting the answers correctly or on time, he/she would make sure to do it again if he/she knows that teacher is cooperative and understands the problem, but in case the teacher being rude and rigorous, the student will try to just get done with it rather than learning and then doing it.

Another thing that comes up is that a teacher’s nature also affects a student’s nature and perception in a long run. For example, a student who faced criticism for asking his doubts will have a perception of not asking questions and more eventually leading to his doubts and questions being suppressed. Being “understanding” and showing empathy and eventually being moral support to students is a great quality being one of the most important qualities for a student’s growth.

Hence, we see that one of the most quality of an effective teacher is understanding the student as well as understanding what is to be taught and what not to, being demanding and rigorous at times helps but has ill effects in a long run.