Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The author claims that some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education while others believe that a logical and reasoning foundation for teaching would work more in the support of producing a moral society. I completely agree that the firm foundation of education should undoubtedly be the lessons of morality and moral values being inculcated into the students. Admittedly, logical reasoning is equally important in producing a moral society but it lacks in certain perspectives to compete with morality solely.

Firstly, morality educates a person to respect his elders which can not go untouched if we are dealing about a moral society. For example- In a society children who respect their elders are wary of them whenever they have a penchant for negative actions such as smoking or drinking etc. In respect to their elders they avoid doing it openly and it reduces their frequency of repeating such inappropriate actions. Whereas, a society where people deal with logical reasoning rather than morality, would give no thought to avoiding smoking or drinking in presence of their elders. It is as such that they might think logically there is no harm in having it once or twice a week.

Secondly, moral values such as honesty, truthfulness, kindness, these all make a person contribute positively in a society leading to overall development of a moral society. For example- a society having huge number of people with intact moral values would be much more ecstatic as their would be someone always available to help you . Whether you are getting late for office or your grand parents need medical attention.However, the one where a person might think why to help someone who is getting late for his exam because that would ultimately kill his time as well. So being logical it is wise to save your time and move out without helping someone, that society would suffer enormous difficulties in long run.

Thirdly, teaching based on moral values prepares human beings filled with emotion and values for others. Every nation today is striving to save their people from any kind of calamities or disasters, this demonstrates the value of a human being. So it must be the first goal of education to prepare students who understand the value of humans and spread humanitarian values.

In sum, it is wise enough to encourage such a teaching where moral values are the foundation rather than the one having logical and critical thinking as it's priority. No matter how logically a teaching may be it can not compete with the benefits of a society driven by moral values and people with good ethics.