An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that if government in Tagus promotes the new type of millet it would lead to curb the Vitamin A deficiency in the nation. It has been cited by the author that the new variety of millet engineered by the international development organization would be given to the farmers at subsidized rate and since millet is a staple food of Tagus people would readily adopt to the the new variety of millet. I find lack of solid evidences in the author's argument which weakens the author's point and it lacks in convincing me. The assumptions made by the author are new variety of millet would adapt to the soil and environmental condition of Tagus and would fruit profitable amount of millet. The impoverished has people who are well enough capable of buying the new millet . Governments's promotion would ensure that people are buying millet only to curb the deficiency of the Vitamin A.

Firstly, it has been nowhere mentioned that new variety of millet would adjust to the soil and environmental condition of Tagus. It might be the situation where new variety is not so robust as it can stand the condition of minerals and water condition in Tagus land. Since the farmers are poor it hardly justifies that they would have enough resources to put fertilizers and provide regular water to the crops. Just getting the seeds at subsidized cost does not ensure that final yield would be considerable and profitable.

Secondly, it has been cited by the author that Tagus is an impoverished nation and it indicates that people on an average might be lacking the purchasing power, so how does it supports the point that new millet would be available to every resident of the nation. Whether the seed has been subsidized or not it puts no difference into the buyers purchasing capacity. Consequently, if the new millet is not reachable to everyone how does it help in curbing the Vitamin A deficiency.

Finally, government's promotion would definitely persuade the denizens to buy the new millet has no strong citation or backup in the argument. Whether they buy new millet or other sources for curbing the Vitamin A deficiency it is solely their choice. It has no evidence that people would not buy anything else to curb the deficiency apart from millet since it is their staple food.

In totality, I would disagree with author's assumptions as they lack proper evidence and are void of strong backup. So it can not be concluded that government's efforts in promoting the new millet would definitely curb the Vitamin A deficiency from Tagus.