Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

Having a large number of courses to take that are unrelated to your field of study can be very hectic as a student. The prompt recommends that students should take a variety of courses in the university. In my opinion, I mostly disagree that students should take courses that are extraneous to their course of study in the universities for three reasons.

First, taking unrelated courses in the university will only add to the cumbersome schedule, a student already has. This will pose as a distraction to them and it will only prevent them from focusing on their major which is extremely important. For instance, a chemical engineering student having to take an intensive mechanical engineering course alongside with his already taxing course work. This will cause the student to be overwhelmed by the large amount of work and lose focus on the germane courses he already has to take that are related to his field of study. This will only cause students to breakdown and perform poorer in their course work because of insufficient study time. Students require more sufficient study in order to efficiently grasp the concepts of their course work.

Furthermore, Students have to be well grounded in their chosen fields in other to make notable innovations or milestones in their fields. Being a 'jack of all trades and a master of none' does not allow for expertise in one's field. For example, students who have enough time to study courses related to their field of study end up being more robust than students who have to do a wide range of course work that are absolutely not related to their field of study.

Another reason is that the competences of students differ. For example, an engineering major who has to offer about 50 units of course work in a semester and is still struggling to make up time to cover up on courses and understand his course, will find it difficult to offer other courses not related to his courses. Forcing such a student who requires more time to assimilate what he is being taught, to take more courses will be awful. This difficulty could lead to the student struggling to master concepts in his fields or study or even worse, failing

Of course, taking courses not related to one's field of study helps to improve the exposure of students. However, requiring students to take varieties of courses outside their field of student will deprive time of sufficient time to study for their course works and becoming experts in their fields. I agree that universities should not force students to take courses that will not prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.