Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

While I agree there should be a mechanism in place where the capabilities of teachers can be assessed in order to erode or weed out bad teachers. I mostly disagree with the prompt that recommends that teachers should be paid based on their student's academic performances for two reasons.

First of all, assessing teachers based on student's performances will give the teachers an opportunity to manipulate the system. For instance, a teacher who know he will be paid based on the academic performance of his or her students will not bother elucidating to the students the entire curriculum as he normally should but will instead intentionally teach students on only the areas that the students would be tested on. Using this mechanism, will only allow teachers to take advantage of the system in place and since students will only be taught on areas in which they will be examined, their academic performances will be excellent but the students themselves will only have a limited overview on their subjects because the teachers will neglect the normal curriculum and just teach them based on what he will testing them on in the examination. This teacher will be paid substantially at the expense of students only having limited knowledge about such courses.

Secondly, this prompt does not take into consideration student competences as well as class sizes. For example, a class size of about 100 students and a class size of 20 students. Do you expect that the dissemination of information in both classes will be same? Of course, NO. A teacher can easily control, manage and pass information in a class where there are fewer students than in a class where the population size is greater. Another important factor to consider is the individual competencies of students. No matter how excellent a teacher is in passing out information and teaching, students have to dedicate personal time to studying what they have been taught in order to excel academically. For instance, the study time of students differ. Some students are more intentional about studying what they have been taught. We don't expect to see the same results for students who don't put efforts into their studying. Evaluating a teacher based on the student’s performance in this case will only be counterproductive.

However, it is important that teachers are given an incentive when their students are doing well academically. This will help and encourage the teacher to do better and more intentional about their students. There should also be a sort of evaluation for teachers, so teachers who are not teaching their students well can be removed from the student. For instance, some teachers are really poor at their jobs and some are even so negligent. Without proper checks and balances, the teachers will remain the system and will only jeopardize the future of students who are taking such courses.