The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Culture is the way of life of people and we see different ways people conduct themselves.The prompt recommends that the most effective way a contemperary culture can be understood is by looking at the trends of the youths in the society. I mostly diasgree with this point for two major reasons.

Firstly, the youths are just a small fraction of the population and can not be used effectively to represent the lifestyle of people. For example, the youths tend to live a more elaborate life than people who are older, we see it in the way they dress, the slangs they have coined, music they listen to which are not truly representative of contemporary culture. From this example above, it will accurate to say that by the lifestyle of the youths we can understand contempary culture. Older people tend to a more conservative way of life where they listen to more serene music, dress differently. Analyzing the trends of such a small subset of population doesn't potray an effective way to understand contemporary culture.

Furthermore, the behavior of youths from various places differ, the influences in their lifes determine how they behave and their lifestyle. For example, a youth who lives in the country side will behave entirely differently from a youth who lives in a major city. The later will be more exposed, dress differently, listen to different musics and be interested in several other things than someone from the country side. It will therefore be ineffective to judge contemporary culture from this perspective due to the different exposure of youths.

However, one might argue that the youth actually are abreast of things changing in the world and they quickly adapt to this fast pace lifestyle. They might say that the aware of the popular musics, trends, dressings but just taking the small fraction of the population to analyze the trends of contemporary culture will not be effective.