Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Politics should have a goal that is ideal but the pursuit for it should be practical. If finding common ground becomes the only aim of politics, then the country loses its direction.

The broader goal of politics should be to make one’s country a better place where everybody is safe, equal and free. Politics should lead a nation towards a utopia where everybody can work for thier dreams and achieve them. The recent laws that grant LGBT community their rights show how through politics this can be achieved. LGBT community was granted their freedom and rights that they deserve after years of oppresion. Politics can strive towards equality for men and women by using tools like reservation, and must so empower women that reservation is deemed useless. Politics can help implement (strictly) equality before the law for all; rich and influential people can not escape from their crimes. Such ideals should be pursued without sparring any efforts as they are not debatable. Also, only through politics does implementation of such lofty ideals seem possible.

In an effort to achieve these ideals, the laws that need to be made in a parliament need a consensus. It is these steps to achieve the ideal, that need debate. Policies that may seem beneficial to a majority might conflict with the rights of minority. Such nuances require finding a common ground and reaching a consensus. If politics is just reduced to finding a common ground, no direction can be reached. Sometime the consensus can be favourable and not favourable at other times. Though, everyday politics is largely a result of consensus, politicians should excercise their own judgement of whether the outcome drives the country towards an ideal place, and not abuse their vote by siding with their party irrespective of the result.

Thus the broader aim of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. To achieve this ideal, politicians should make decisions by reaching a common ground without loosing sight of their main aim.