Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Students should seldom study passively and take part in their study actively because of the following reasons.

Firstly, questioning about what they are taught allows them to judge the subjects, which is important to determine if they like or dislike the subject. For example, a disinterested student who does not have an inkling about the subject may turn to dislike the course regardless of what is being taught. Maybe it was the teacher who helped bring about this outcome or maybe it was just too heavy with technical jargon that student just started to inadvertently to move away. Regardless of cause, once the subject is painted in a bad image in the students cerebral, she will find it difficult to get into it and try to avoid it as much as possible. On the flip side, if the unbiased student even pays a fraction of attention to what is being taught she might grow into liking the course. Therefore, studying actively helps the disciple to measure the suject and his interest along with it.

Secondly, being active to the incoming information promotes critical thinking which is necessary for a deeper understanding and is superior to passive learning. Critical thinking enables the person to have a birds-eye view on the subject, allowing him to apply the said thinking in different aspects of life. For instance, the trivial instance of an apple falling from the tree onto Isaac Newton resulted him to actively question about the seemingly insignificant event. If he were to have accepted it passively, it would not have come to the discovery of gravity. It was because of his questions and his relentless demeanor about finding the answers to his question that led to this discovery. Therefore, actively asking questions develops a deeper understanding which is necessary for the comprehension of the event.

To recaptulate, Rote learning encourages students to digest the information, skipping the part of analysing and drawing insightful inferences from it, and regurtitate the same during examinations, akin to a parrot. This kind of learning is not only transitory but also superfluous in the long term. On the other hand, effective studying enables the students to establish better perception and a extensive understanding about the subject.