Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it

passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning is all about asking questions and seeking their answers. When a student is introduced to a new topic, due to lack of prior knowledge to the topic, the student may have a lot of questions and doubts related to it. If the topic is compared to a brick wall, then these questions represent the missing bricks in the wall. It is therefore important for the student to pose these questions to the instructor, and get them clarified. Sometimes, the teacher also needs to ponder over these questions in order to answer them, and also some other students might have different opinions regarding the same questions. This kind of ‘collective reasoning’ provides a very healthy atmosphere for learning, and also gets the students more interested and involved in the learning process. Hence I agree that students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting passively.

Most of the revolutionary ideas come into being from vigourous questioning of the orthodoxical beliefs. Socrates questioned the biblical belief that, ‘The Earth is at the center of the universe, and everything else revolves around it.’ He proposed that the Sun is at the center and the Earth moves around it. Although he was excecuted by the Church authorities, his ideas lead to astronomers like Galileo to make observations of the heavenly bodies and seek evidence for the truth. Hence, questioning a concept makes it possible to verify its correctness by searching deeper into the unknown.

But sometimes it might happen that excessive amount of questioning can lead to the teacher losing track of the order in which he/she wanted to teach the subject. This can seriously deteriorated the quality of learning, as it might lead to students being bombarded with concepts from different corners of the topic, which might seem unrelated, and hence they might lose the big picture of how its all connected. Moreover, it is also possible that a greater level of detail about the subject is irrelevant to the student, and hence the teacher is reluctunt to explain the further nuances of the subject. In this case, it is not wise to keep questioning the ideas and concepts put forth, as further enquiry into the subject might lead to the whole classing losing time and learning irrelevant material.

Hence, although it is quite important to ask questions about the topic being taught in order to gain deeper insights and understanding of it, the student must observe restrain in cases where the questions become irrelevant to the topic, or when they start spoiling the order in which the instructor intends to teach the concepts in the topic.