A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

" Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world" as quoted by Nelson Mandela. Indeed it is true that the education that we have is not just about knowing the well-formed concepts and tested ideas, but is also a mechanism of allowing a person to think and create new ideas. So, in my opinion a true university must encompass far more than the narrow or specialized study of a single field. Since, it is through the exposure and by exploring wide spectrum of liberal arts courses that students become truly learned. As, the children of a nation are its future.

A true university should provide wide variety of courses for students to learn as the students would get the general knowledge about the arts, humanities and natural sciences which is quite important. So, if a university just provides a education that encompasses specialization of a single discipline it might happen that the student get the well-known knowledge of the field but he won't have knowledge about other things which are quite essential now-a-days. Since, literature and history have plenty number of things to be taught to students they also provide knowledge to the students about how the innovation took place. A liberal arts education also provides invaluable set of employability skills, including the ability to think, and capacity for lifelong learning. Moreover, these are the qualities which the companies offering job look for as well. Liberal arts would also provide solid base to education and improve your analytical thinking. And, with the advent of new technologies one should have diversed knowledge about things happening around and should have openness to these new inventions and upcoming technologies.

For example, if a university provide education just about the specialized study of a single discipline and if student opt for the Electronics field so, he would just get the knowledge about that field. But, he won't acquire the employability skills required like lifelong learning of new upcoming technologies and moreover he would have knowledge about the other fields and liberal arts , so would be reluctant to the new innovating ideas and technology.

So, in my opinion the university should encompass far more things than the specialization of single field which would provide innovative thinking and required skill set to the students and lifelong learning ability.