A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

In 30 minutes, compose an essay on the quotation above. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the views expressed in the quotation. In doing so, be sure to explain the reasoning behind your taking this position. Consider to what degree the statement may or may not be true; take this into account in your discussion. You may not write on any other topic.

Education gives an individual the power to survive and thrive in a society.The issue mentioned here is quite complex and needs to be analysed in depth. While some feel that studying or learning a particular subject is what a true university education encompasses , many are of the opinion that pursuing a broader education is what it means to be truly learned. Despite the assertion that studying a specialized subject would be the paradigm for a proper university education , it is imperative that a broad range of topics are taught to the unversity students to make them pundits.On one hand there is the parochial study of subjects. On the other hand there is the in-depth analysis of the different liberal art courses that can help students in different stages of their lives. Iam of the opinion that covering broader topics in universities help students advance intellectually.

The chief reason for my view is that the students who enter into the universities are often confused on what subjects they should select for their study. This dilemma can be solved by allowing them to choose a broad range of subjects which helps them acquire additional skills which will help them advance later in their chosen careers.For example in India, the education system is such usually a broad range of subjects are given taught on in universities which allows the students to understand their topic of interest and also know additional information on other subjects.Finally Iam of the view that education needs have a myriad of subjects offered to the students so that they can have a nuanced view.

Another reason for my view on this topic is that the students can become proficient in multiple fields. This will surely make them stand out later on in life when they are choosing their particular careers. Lets take the example of the numerous universities that offre dual degrees like the degree which offers specialization both in Computer Science and Chemical Engineering. Though these subjects completely different from each other in my ways, it important to notice that a person who specializes in this degree will have oppurtunities uniquely open for him which was not the case if the they had pursued these degrees individually. The final result is that the universities need to wide range of subjects in order to help the students get unique oppurtunities

Although some might argue that a student would fare well in the specialized he or she has chosen because of their sole interest in that.Yet, taking some courses additional to that will only serve to help that individual to reach new heights.Finally educating the students on broader range of subjects is very imperative.

For all these reasons stated above, I therefore am of the opinion that when students are taught an eclectic set of subjects , it will help them do well later on in life.