To understand the most important character of society, now must study its major cities.

Society is a large interconnected system of people. It is an extremely complex system due to the involvement of humans who have had prided themselves with the possession of highly convoluted brain structure. Society, along with people, is also a culmination of different cultures and heritage. Therefore, this makes understanding a society quite a difficult task. This needs the study of every culture in depth and the influence of the economic and social conditions of the particular time on its people. Thus, in my opinion, to understand the characters of a society, one must broaden their knowledge horizons beyond just the major cities.

Major cities highlight the urban lifestyle of the people. Considering the example of the Indian society, if we take Mumbai as the major city to study, we will see both men and women going to work everyday, people choosing to live in nuclear families rather than joint families. Almost everyone in Mumbai can be seen wearing jeans and top and other things which have a western origin. Therefore, major cities can highlight one aspect of the society but not all.

Another factor about major cities is that they not only consist of the native people but also the immigrants, whose residence in those cities is often short lived. In Mumbai, which is the hub of commerce in India, many foreigners come for a few weeks for their part in a movie and they leave. Although, they influence the local people but they do not form an integral part of the society. Thus, studying major cities won’t present the true reflection of the society.

Studying major cities, however, can give us a sound idea about what the society has evolved and how it is still evolving. But major information about how it originated can’t be gathered from the urban lifestyle of the big cities. Almost all societies have a rural origin. Without studying the roots of society, it is difficult to understand its workings entirely. The rural lifestyle develops, due to factors, into an urban, big city, metropolitan lifestyle. The rural areas or small cities and towns will show the slow paced lives of people. The urban cities on the other hand, has people whose lives are forever fast moving. The knowledge of the people in these small cities and the major ones can help us understand the major differences between them. Therefore, to understand a society one needs to have adequate knowledge about the rural as well as the urban areas, which will help understand all aspects of it.

One might cite the example of the Indus Valley civilisation and how studying its major cities gave us an idea about how things were at that time. But we still do not have a good understanding of how the language in the city worked. We do not know about its origin, it is very possible that this would have been possible to figure out if the archaeologists had found ruins of its small villages. Same goes for the Indian society. Just by studying cities like Mumbai, one can’t understand how the Indian society is. The clothes, the status of women in different parts of the country are quite different from that in the Metropolitans. One might be shocked to find that dowry system, honour killings and female infanticide are still parts of the Indian society and one will not get any idea of this unless one studies the rural and remote parts of India. Therefore, it is not enough to just study the major cities in order to gauge the characteristics of a society.