To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The best way to study the characteristics of a society is a debatable topic. The author claims that studying major cities of a society is a must for studying the characteristics of a society. It is true that the major cities might help us to gain profound knowledge regarding the nature of the community, it is not a compulsion.

Undoubtedly, major cities are likely to contain the major population of a society. The major city gains its title for a reason- it contains a huge portion of infrastructure, people and thus a great opportunity to study the culture. For instance, any person who has visited Seoul would be able to describe how Korean people look, what kind of food, in general, do people eat over there, what are the festivals celebrated there and so on. Moreover, for a non-indigenous person, the major cities are well known and have information about them available rather than the remote areas. This makes it easier for a person to extract information. To illustrate, if you search about Nepal on the internet, you may find out Kathmandu and Pokhara but you would rarely find information about a local town in Jajarkot, and even if you ended up finding it, you would have difficulties reaching there, let alone gathering information.

However, studying the primary cities is not the only way to study the characteristics of a society. There exist many sites, rich in culture and heritage that are a crucial part of understanding the society. There are many places where culturally important places and the traditions of natives are intact from foreign influence and yet lie preserved away from the big cities. Moreover, even though major cities are the places with major population, they are also most likely the destination of immigrants resulting in a new community made up of people with mixed characteristics. Notably, New York, with its heterogeneity of people is not the best place to study the American culture. You might encounter people from all over the world and not a single American and end up thinking that is the American culture. This would definitely not be a fruitful study as the results turned out to be totally opposite from the objective.

Also, the major cities are also the busiest ones. As the most desired place for a living, major cities are likely to be expensive. Consequently, people have to work hard for long hours and more days a week. While we can observe how people may be working many hours and are caught in the hustle bustle, we cannot study their true personal characteristics which are hardly perceived in such an environment. A person might work from dusk to dawn and sleep as soon as he/she comes home but that doesn’t mean that is all he/she wants to eve do. That might not be the characteristic of the person and that might not be the culture the society he lives in has. But the circumstances might have led for the characteristics to suppress.

Ultimately, though the humongous metropolis might give us a tinge of societies characteristics, it is not a compulsion to study these areas to find out about the characteristics of society.