To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Major cities are always associated with the cultural and social symbolism of the related societies, their values and their significances are also valuable for studying the specific cultures for scholars. However, to understand a society’s paramount characteristics, the main focus would be much diminished if the major cities were only on the least. In fact, many cultures were established in small villages not in the major cities.

At the first point, many countries which are agricultural based, the main civilization and traditional rituals, with related crafts, were raised in small villages. For instance, Chinese civilization is complex and enchanted by many scholars; the pottery, porcelain and rituals are traditional characteristics of the Chinese society, but these evidence would not be found in the big cities, instead, agriculture was born and bourgeoned with famers whom collectively working with each other, sending rituals and devotes to the nature in order for returning harvest and their peace. The agriculture was also helped to form the traditional Chinese calendar, New Year festival and their fundamental spirit: Men and Nature are one, we do not have privacy, we work toward each other and share things, these rituals and ideas were not getting flourished in the major cities, so, major cities sometimes could not reflect a society’s characteristics.

Meanwhile as a research, it should be holistic and fair with substantial diversity involved. Thus, the major cities are always connected with wealthy social class, cleanness, norms and etiquettes. In fact, this decorum are not enough for the researchers to have a dimensional and substantial understanding of a society’s characteristics. For example, when people do research in Cambodia, the its major cities were funded by French colonizers, a sub-culture which does not reflect the traditional culture in Cambodia. Instead, people go to little villages and seeing poverty, looking their houses that constructed with bamboos and covering with hand-made tapestries, listening the euphonic folklores and music by elders; these are real social characteristics of Cambodia. Thus, at this point, knowing the most important characteristics of a society should not be only one sided; learning some marginalized people will provide a new landscape for the research. Thus, learning the major cities is not enough.

However, some people will suggest great civilization and authors were all from cities, but this situation is not sufficing since these civilizations are authors were known by history; history is not fact, just a form of literature, thus the fame and events of cities in a specific area are not quite convincing for people. Knowing the rural areas would really open the views of a real society, not in a evanescence.

As a conclusion, one learning a society’s most important characteristic via studying its major cities would provide fallacies and unfair impression for this person’s scope. As the protocol of doing a robust research, massive time spending with diversified social situations would be a good way to know them, instead of just focusing on its major cities.