To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A society is made up of different people,aspects and functions. A society also has many characteristics which makes it important, such importance is needed to be understood and one such way I believe is by studying and understanding its major cities.Therefore in my opinion, I strongly agree that the major cities of a society need to be studied in order to understand it's most important characteristics. The following two reasons explains my position.

First, in order to understand a people and their cultural heritage, history is a most important tool to make use of. All societies have their history, be it recorded or not. One important way of knowing about a society's us through the history of their cities. For instance, a country like nigeria is made up of different and diverse people and cultures, with unique characteristics dwelling in particular cities. kano, a city in Nigeria help us understand the roots of people in kano, and their values.Therefore, studying the city of kano especially using its history gives us more proof of kano's important characteristics.For example the people of kano as history shows have been business people, and a lot of mosques show there are majorly Muslims. The city's gates e.g Kofar naisa shows thier defensiveness against intruders. The above examples ,through the help of the history of kano state city (or the study of kano city) opens the necessity of studying a city in order to understand its most important characteristics.

Secondly, a person new to a society (a country) has to study a city to be able to live and abide by their rules and regulation. as each society have their most important characteristics ranging from the type of clothing, food, sports and so on, studying a city will to a great extent help a new person become familiar with their ways. For instance, in Saudi Arabia, women and women are not allowed to mingle, hold hands or kiss if they are not yet married.Also women are not allowed to drive in the city. it is therefore by studying such city that one knows this characteristics that they consider not only valuable but sacred. therefore, only by studying the cities does one know of such values to that society.

Of course, Some may argue that studying cities isn't the only way to understand the characteristics of a sociey, but isn't a city the backbone of a society? Isn't the city of paris and its Eiffel tower what makes it unique and important to paris? Isn't a city and its history not what makes us know of its past, its struggles and values? ,therefore the studying of a city is necessity in order that we fully understand its most important characteristics.

In conclusion, in order that we understand a society's most important characteristics, we must study the history of its cities, also we must also look at a city's present rules and regulations, thier morals and sacrd values. For these reasons,one must study a society's major cities to understand thier most important characteristics.