To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The major cities, which are the most renowned cities in the country, are always seen as the windows for the nation to show their characteristics and enchantments to the foreigners. It's inevitable for our strangers to study the major cities when first learn about the society. However, we need to concede that it's insufficient to understand the whole society, including the aspects of politics, economics, the literature and so on, with merely learning the major cities. Other cities and villages, which seem ostensibly marginal and were less mentioned, might also play essential roles in the development of the society.

Been most studied and researched, the major cities indeed stand in a major place in the constitute of a society. A city, which can be called as a major city, must has its unique statue towards the society. Some of the major cities are the political centers, like the Washington.D.C and the Beijing city, often show the history of the country. Others are the economic centers, like the New York and Sydney, demonstrate the modernization and the prosperity of the country. By studying this kind of cities, we can capture abundant information we need to understand the society, which is enough for a senior students' homework but not all-encompassed for a comprehensive study of the whole society.

Small cities and villages, which are less known, also have the importance for society. The origins of some specific forms of literature or music are from the marginal places. Most well-known is the country music, a popular music style, that came from the villages and spread quickly among the whole country. And some of most famous writers, who altered the literary history of a nation, were born and cultivated in small villages. Mo Yan, a Chinese writer who won the Noble Price, was the best case that lived in a small village in west-east of China and created his most essential works within the setting of the village. Hence, we can get the conclusion that the small cities and villages are also important to the characteristics of the society.

I admit partly of the statement that the necessity of study of major cities, but the most important characteristics of a society are not merely exist in the major cities. Different country might have diverse situation of the distribution of characteristics. Sometimes, all the characteristics are possessed in some major cities, while different characteristics distribute in different places in other cities. As far as I am concerned, it's better to learn more comprehensive of all the cities of the nation, rather than only study the major cities, that can understand more characteristics.

In sum, the major cities are indispensable part of learning a society, but by only learning there is not sufficient. Very places have distinctive fascinating characteristics, which compose a whole society.